Awardee Members

To view lists of our awardee members click here


Dr. Chandra P. Sharma was recognized by the Society with a distinguished Scientist award (1991) and the award subsequently is known as Chandra P. Sharma Award. Society recognizes the distinguished scientists working in the area of Biomaterials and Artificial Organs time to time with Chandra P. Sharma Award. The award winners have been Prof. P.K. Bajpai (1992) University of Dayton (USA), Mr. H. Vijayakumar (1994) Chief Executive, SIDD, Chennai (INDIA), Prof. E. Piskin (1997), Hacettepe University (TURKEY), Dr. Hideharu Shintani (1999), National Institute of Health Sciences (Japan), Prof. Victor I. Sevastianov, (2000) Russian Research Centre for Biomaterials for Artificial Organs (Russia), Prof. Subrata Saha, (2001), USA, Prof. A. S. Hoffman (2002), USA, Dr. Leo Vroman (2003), USA and Prof. Xingdong Zhang (2004), Sichuan University, China, Prof. Robert Baier (2005), USA and Dr. Avi Domb (2006), Isreal.

Nominations are invited throughout the year for Chandra P. Sharma Award. Send your nominations to the President, Secretary or Joint Secretary of the Society.

MAHE Award has been constituted for the best paper presented by a scientist/academic faculty during the conference and the Bajpai-Saha Award is for the best student paper presentation.


Total members of the Society are 380+ including Awardees, Honorary, life, organizational and foreign members.

Honorary Membership

Honorary Membership is recognised only on rare and exceptional cases of distinctions. Society has only two Honorary members, Prof. Willem J. Kolff of University of Utah (USA) and Prof. Robert Langer, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA at present.