home  about us  contact us  feedback  back

Fellow in Biomaterials and Artificial Organs (FBAO)


Annual General Body Meeting (AGM) of Society for Biomaterials and Artificial Organs, India (SBAOI)  held at SCMS, Kochi on February 28, 2010 at 6.30 pm has approved to start a Fellowship programme (FBAO) based on stipulated guidelines. General body nominated  a committee to select fellows. A list of 20 members was recommended by the committee and approved by the President, SBAOI  for the Fellowship-2011.  


The FBAO awards were distributed by Dr. V.M. Katoch, Director General, ICMR on February 10, 2011 during the XXI National Conference at Sardar Patel University, Anand, Gujarat.

 Fellows 2011

  1. Prof. Ajith K. Banthia, IIT, Kharagpur FBAO
  2. Prof. Alok R. Ray, IIT , Delhi FBAO
  3. Dr. G. S. Bhuvaneshwar, SCTIMST FBAO
  4. Mr. Balagopal, Penpol, Trivandrum FBAO
  5. Dr. Chandra P Sharma, SCTIMST FBAO
  6. Dr. V. Kalliyanakrishnan, SCTIMST FBAO
  7. Prof. K. Mohandas, Vice Chancellor, Kerala Medical University FBAO
  8. Mr. C. V. Muraleedharan, SCTIMST FBAO
  9. Mr. D. S. Nagesh, SCTIMST FBAO
  10. Dr. S. N. Pal, Noida FBAO
  11. Mr. A. V. Ramani, TTK, Chennai FBAO
  12. Prof. S. Rajeswari, University of Madras FBAO
  13. Prof. Ravi Prakash, BITS, Pilani FBAO
  14. Prof.. T. S. Sampath Kumar, IIT, Madras FBAO
  15. Dr. K. Sreenivasan, SCTIMST FBAO
  16. Prof. Subrata Pal, University of Jadavpur FBAO
  17. Dr. Thomas Chandy, Minnesota, USA FBAO
  18. Dr. P. R.Harikrishna Varma, SCTIMST FBAO
  19. Mr. H. Vijayakumar, SPIC, Chennai FBAO
  20. Mr. Willi Paul, SCTIMST FBAO

Fellows 2015

  1. Dr. Bhuvanesh Gupta, IIT Delhi FBAO
  2. Dr. Bikramjit Basu, IISc FBAO
  3. Dr. Prabha D Nair, SCTIMST FBAO


Fellow in Biomaterials & Artificial Organs (FBAO)

Society for Biomaterials and Artificial Organs (India)

Criteria for nominations

*  To commemorate the 25th anniversary of the Society for Biomaterials and Artificial Organs (India), it is proposed to introduce fellowship in line with that of IUSBSE. The proposed fellowship will be known as FBAO

*  The nomination criteria for fellowship of IUSBSE (as available) are high quality research in the area of biomaterials supported by extensive quality publications and 1800-2000 citations. Considering the typical scenario in India, the following criteria is proposed. 

General requirements

*  Nominees should have appropriate professional training (master's /professional/research degree), competence and good performing research in the broader area of ‘biomaterials science’ with 10 or more years of active membership in the society and notable contributions to the development of the society and its journals TRENDS

*  Nominees should have made significant contributions to Biomaterials Science documented by sustained efforts in biomaterials research, development, education, or administration.

*  Self nomination for the beginning and later new Fellows to be nominated and evaluated by existing Fellows

Specific requirements

*  Nominees should have a continuing record of publication in refereed journals appropriate to the candidate's contributions to the field.

*  Nominees should have over 500 citations and h-factor over 10. The citations are expected from work carried out in India.


*  Nominees should have remarkable records in developing indigenous technologies comparable to the above stated academic contributions and their successful commercialization. The equivalency of the Efforts in developing and commercializing a product Vs Scientific achievement with over 500 citations will be determined by the committee and the committee’s decision will be final


*  Nominees should have made significant contributions towards the growth of medical devices by setting up industrial bases in this country with continuing R&D efforts to achieve excellence on par with global perspective.

*  The number of fellows is limited to 10% of the total membership in the society.

*  As per the IUSBSE practice, the nominations will be considered every four years.

*  All members of SBAOI, including members from abroad can be nominated for this fellowship

Proposed b y Dr. K. Sreenivasan, Chairman, Awards Committee, SBAOI

General Body meeting (held at SCMS, Kochi on February 28, 2010) approved the procedure and the guidelines. However, it was indicated that the same should be put on the society’s web site and given one month time for all members for information and comments.

*  GB appointed a four member committee to nominate first time for the fellowship awards. During subsequent years, existing fellows will nominate new fellows and the nominations will be circulated among fellows for comments prior to committee’s consideration

The committee consists of the following 4 members

1. Dr. K. Sreenivasan, SCTIMST, (Chairman)

2. Prof. T.S. Sampathkumar, IITM

3. Sri. D.S. Nagesh, SCTIMST

4. Dr. P.R. Harikrishna Varma, (Convener) and Secretary, SBAOI